Despite the rain, on April 25th over 500 guests gathered at the Plaza Hotel to celebrate the Skowhegan School of Painting to raise funds for its artist residency program. The 2017 Skowhegan Awards Dinner was held in honor of Jack Whitten, The Studio Museum in Harlem and William T. Williams, and The Pollock-Krasner Foundation and its Chairman and CEO, Charles C. Bergman.


William T. Williams //Benjamin Lozovsky/

Guests enjoyed performances by Metropolis Ensemble, a Skowhegan Flower Cart designed by Saipua, and a Pop-up Shop featuring limited edition artworks by esteemed Skowhegan alumni and faculty such as Hank Willis Thomas, Alex Katz, Chris Ofili, and Polly Apfelbaum.


Photo// Patrick McMullan

The night’s notable attendees included Jack Shear, Agnes Gund, Ann Tenenbaum and Thomas H. Lee, Ann Gund, Adam Weinberg, Caroline Hoffman, Byron Kim, Robert Gober, David Driskell, Lowery Stokes Sims, Michael Xufu Huang, Cathy Lasry, Paul Pfeiffer, NIC Kay, Pepita Serrano, Jerryd Bayless, Darren Walker, and Thelma Golden.


Rena Hoffman, Sarah Workneh, David Driskell, David Beitzel, Katie Sonnenborn,Darren Walker// Benjamin Lozovsky/


Learn more about Skowhegan School of Painting.